HCC: Historical Crisis Committee

About HCC

Yugoslavia is a former federal country situated in the west-central part of the Balkan Peninsula that consisted of Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, North Macedonia, Slovenia and Kosovo. It was primarily founded in 1918 as a kingdom, the kingdom lasted until the Second World War. During WWII Yugoslavia capitulated and divided amongst Axis Powers. Throughout 1944-1945, communist-led partisans, guided by Josip Broz Tito, liberated the country from the Axis forces. As a result, Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was formed in 1946. In that way, the kingdom was replaced by a federation of six nominally equal republics. After the death of Tito in 1980, ethnic/religious sentiments began to grow. Subsequently, nationalist leaders came to power, and the Socialist Republics of Yugoslavia started turning against each other. On that occasion a brutal war between the member states of Yugoslavia began, which caused a humanitarian, political and economic crisis in the Balkans for over a decade. It is clear, that these states could and should have taken better measures so as to prevent the ethnic cleansing and the catastrophic social impact of the Yugoslav wars.

Under-Secretary-General: Duygu Naz ├ľnem

Academic Assistant: Bera Ercihan

Agenda Item:

Breakup of Yugoslavia

Click apply to this committee

*This committee is apt for experienced delegates.